Finland 2007, Part 1<

Finland

I still remember the night I got there..and the day before: New Year’s Eve 2006/2007.

Let’s go back to that day. December 31, 2006. I was in the mountains, close to Bergamo, with some friends of mine. We used to spend every New Year’s eve together in this little village, where we all go on vacation.

We had dinner at my friend’s house, and then disco time! It was so much fun, dancing and laughing all together. At 2.30 am of Jan 1 I said goodbye to everybody, left in the middle of the party and drove back to Milan (luckily, there were to friends of mine coming with me on the drive back).

Once in Milan, I had 1h to shower and finish up packing, and then straight to the airport, destination: Suomi.

I took 3 flights, to Stockholm, Helsinki and Jyvaskyla, reaching my final destination at about 10pm. A cab took me to the hotel where I was supposed to spend my first night. My Tutor Inka was waiting for me at the entrance. She’s an angel and prooved to be a real tutor from the first night. In fact, the online booking hadn’t worked and the hotel had no reservation. Luckily, Inka had the keys of my apartment, and her boyfriend drove us there right away. The neighborhood is called Kortepohja and it is located in the north-eastern part of the city.

Inka took me to my new house, and gave me the “survival kit”, crappy but useful, which consists of: bedlinen, a pot, a pan, silverware, a glass, a dish, a bowl, BUT NO TOILET PAPER! Inka’s boyfriend found one at a friend’s house nearby, and I was all set.

Freezing cold, clean air, amazing people, crappy blankets, naked walls, big window, orange, light blu, christmas….these are the memories of that last night. A great start for my Finnish experience!

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by melanieleeson on February 3, 2010 at 11:54 pm

    Awww! I remember those times from the photos and the many more we made that semester. Still seems like it was only the other day that we were all together eating lunch in Lozzi…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

