Week 2 – la crémaillère

I moved into my flat on Sunday night. The owner’s girlfriend handed me the keys at Place de la Comedie at about 6.30 pm and an hour later I was carrying my heavy suitcase around the city center. Magnus, a German guy from my class, was so kind to answer my last minute, emergency call and walk with me to the house (due to some organizational misunderstandings I couldn’t move into the house earlier that day, and it was getting dark..) so thank you VEEERY much Magnus!

After dinner and a movie, I spent about two hours unpacking my things and making a long list of the things I would have to buy the following day. Since there was no hot water, I started my new life with a cold shower, how great 😉

Monday 20 was my busiest day in Montpellier. After class, I went to the dollar store and to the supermarket, about 2 times each, going back and forth from the shops to my house. There’s no need to list all the things I bought, just imagine what anyone would need in a house fully furnished but with nothing for “daily usage” (well, fortunately there was toilet paper, but that was about it). At about 6 p.m. I made a last stop at the public laundry-room to wash some clothes, the couch-sheet and some other stuff that was screaming for help. At the end of the day, the house seemed much warmer and cozy. It’s a two-room flat, with a nice living room and a simple but cozy bedroom, a little kitchenette and, of course, the bathroom separated form the toilet, in the curious “french way”. Hot water was still not running, I didn’t have (and still don’t) access to the internet and there was a strange smell coming from the shower. The first problem has been taken care of now (thank you Gerard!!!) and it’s just a matter of days before everything is going to work (I hope).

On Thursday afternoon, after class, I got a bike from a professor (thank you so much Elisa), got the wheels fixed, and finally went “grocery” shopping for the forthcoming party. That night, in fact, I finally inaugurated the house, which proved to be perfect for parties (but not so party-proof). There is a french expression to describe the inauguration of a house: “pendre la crémaillère”. Pendre means “to hang” and the crémallère is a hook used to hang the pewter in the fireplace in old houses. I had some people over for dinner, among which Gerard, a guy from Barcelona aka the Mojito Master. At about 11pm there were 20 people in my house and the living room had turned into a disco (a pink, oriental, flame-shaped lamp along with the right music did the job). I wasn’t worried about the noise because that afternoon I had put a paper on the wall at the entrance informing the fellow-tenants about the party (a professor of mine had told me that the crémaillère was a good and respected reason to make noise, news that had pleasantly surprised me). At about midnight most of the people went to a Panama club and Ana, Gerard and I joined shortly after. However, when we got there we didn’t find any of our friends! Nontheless, we danced for about an hour, and then went back home. It had been a tiring but very fun night 🙂 The following day I found out that our friends didn’t actually make it to the disco and at school it was easy to make a distinction between those who had come to the party and those who hadn’t..the latter had a much sharper look on their faces!

On Saturday morning I went to a mall to hand out some resume, but I’m not sure of how it went…I’m afraid that not giving immediate full availability is a major con, especially in stores like H&M and such, where finding new people is extremely easy. Anyway, I keep looking, never resting, and something will come up. On Saturday night some Spanish friends and I went to a place called Rock Store and danced till 3 a.m., which seems pretty early in “standard party time”, but I was actually feeling utterly tired by the time I reached the house. The following day I went to the beach with some friends, which is a 50 minutes bike-ride from MTP. Too bad the chain of my velo got loose every time I didn’t pedalled, which prevented me also from changing gears, and the saddle was thin and uncomfortable (like those for professional male bikers I guess), so about 110 minutes of bike-ride literally destroyed my butt. Apart from that, it was a very nice day. The ride wasn’t bad at all cos we were 7 people riding all together as a flock, mostly along a bike-track by a river, in the countryside. The little town of Palavis wasn’t too bad either: little restaurants near the port and a fairly wide beach, although we stayed there only for a few hours… the wind was too strong! I think that that evening we all slept tight. It’s Tuesday night and although I don’t have any special anecdotes concerning the past two days I can say that:

A.I switched to the hardest class and am learning a lot, mostly due to the fact that there’s only me and another girl in class, which makes classes more stimulating and involving.

B.This might be my last night alone in the apartment, since Ana, my future flat-mate, is moving in starting from tomorrow night. What a strange sensation. I can’t really imagine living in 2 in such a little apt, but I know that it is going to be just fine and definitely better than living all by myself.

C.Main goal of this week: FIND A JOB!!! Good night world.

Leave a Reply

